Search Close
Plan Your Visit
Outside View of the Indiana Historical Society Building
Plan your visit
Tuesday through Saturday10 a.m. - 5 p.m
Eugene and Marilyn Glick Indiana History Center 450 West Ohio Street, Indianapolis, IN 46202
Save $2 per ticket (adults & seniors) when you purchase online.
Purchase Tickets
Indiana Experience Admission $15 Adults$14 Seniors (60 and over)$5 Youth (ages 5 through 17)$2 Access Pass HoldersFree Children under 5Free IHS MembersFree Educators and Military Free parking with admission in IHS lot off New York Street.

Meet Authors, Buy Personalized Gifts at Eighth Annual Holiday Author Fair

November 24, 2010

Indianapolis—Holiday shopping for an array of family, loved ones and new friends can be a daunting task, but the Indiana Historical Society offers a personalized, one-stop shopping opportunity for book lovers and gift givers alike this holiday season at the Eighth Annual Holiday Author Fair, taking place Saturday, Dec. 4, noon – 4 p.m. at the Eugene and Marilyn Glick Indiana History Center, located at 450 W. Ohio St. in downtown Indianapolis.

The Holiday Author Fair is the largest book signing gathering for Indiana-related material, featuring more than 70 “Hoosier” authors. Books include works of fiction, non-fiction, cookbooks, photography, history, children’s books and more. Visitors can converse with authors, have books signed and enjoy refreshments, as well as take in the various elements of the IHS’s new Indiana Experience.

Author presentations will take place in the Frank and Katrina Basile Theater throughout the afternoon, as well as an awards presentation and readings from the “My Indiana Hero” student writing contest. A special area for children’s activities will also be available. Featured authors include Philip Gulley, Howard Caldwell, James Alexander Thom, Ray Boomhower and Daniel Orr.

Complimentary gift wrapping (donations accepted) will be provided by members of the Butler University Chorale. The Basile History Market will also offers shopping opportunities on items such as music, Indiana-made household products, jewelry, original art, handmade textiles, children’s merchandise, reproductions from the IHS collection and more. Members of the IHS receive 10 percent off their entire purchase including signed books.

The Holiday Author Fair is free with admission to the Indiana Experience, and complimentary parking is available in the History Center’s surface lot at the corner of New York and West streets. The Eighth Annual Holiday Author Fair is supported by Indy Reads. For more details on these and other Indiana Historical Society offerings, call the IHS at (317) 232-1882 or visit

Since 1830, the Indiana Historical Society has been Indiana’s Storyteller, connecting people to the past by collecting, preserving, interpreting and sharing the state’s history. A private, nonprofit membership organization, IHS maintains the nation’s premier research library and archives on the history of Indiana and the Old Northwest and presents a unique set of visitor exhibitions called the Indiana Experience. IHS also provides support and assistance to local museums and historical groups, publishes books and periodicals; sponsors teacher workshops; and provides youth, adult and family programming.


High-resolution images of book covers and other items, as well as interviews with authors and student winners, are available upon request. For more information, contact Amy Lamb, Media Relations Manager, at (317) 232-1878 or

Eighth Annual Holiday Author Fair Presentation Schedule

Frank and Katrina Basile Theater

12:30 p.m. “My Indiana Hero” – Student Writing Contest Awards Presentation and Readings

1 p.m. John Bower, photographer – The Common Good

1:30 p.m. Gail Stephens, historian – Shadow of Shiloh: Major General Lew Wallace in the Civil War

2 p.m. Karen Evans Moratz, author and flutist – Flute for Dummies

2:30 p.m. Ray Boomhower, author and editor – “Writing Lives: A Primer on Biography”

3 p.m. Howard Caldwell, author and television personality – The Golden Age of Indianapolis Theaters

Eighth Annual Holiday Author Fair Participating Authors List*

Abe Aamidor

Kris Arnold

Ramón and Trisha (Hull) Arredondo

Peggy Archer

William E. Bartelt

Suzanne S. Bellamy

Ray E. Boomhower

John Bower

Becky Bowles

Melanie Bowlin

Lorene Burkhart

Scott M. Bushnell

Dick Cady

Howard Caldwell

Duncan Campbell

Jamie Carie

Fred D. Cavinder

Sherry Stone Clifton

Colleen Coble

Julie Conner

David A. Crowder

Cathy Day

Matt Dellinger

Steven Doyle

Phil Dunlap

Janet Zenke Edwards

Ted Evanoff

Thomas French

Frank L. Gertcher

Anita Marie Giddings

Philip Gulley

Gladys Harvey

William Heath

Jim Hillman

Jolene Ketzenberger

Rita T. Kohn

Norbert Krapf

Micah Ling

Richard M. Lytle

W.C. Madden

Audra Masternak

Michael Maurer

Jim McGarrah

Kathy M. McKimmie

Alan McPherson

Keven McQueen

Marsha Williamson Mohr

Karen Evans Moratz

Barbara Olenyik Morrow

David Thomas Murphy

John Murphy

Wendy Stout O’Brien

Daniel Orr

Michael A. Peake

Philip Potempa

Nelson Price

Dale Ratermann

James M. Redwine

Amber Robinson

Betsy Sheldon

Gail Stephens

Joanne Raetz Stuttgen

Larry D. Sweazy

Dark Rain Thom

James Alexander Thom

Tom Watson

Peter J. Welling

W. William Wimberly II

Douglas A. Wissing

Connie Nordhielm Wooldridge

Ron Woodward

Mary C. Woolling

Julie Young

*List includes co-authors, illustrators and photographers who will be in attendance.

map of area around IHS location
Drop us a line
Let's talk
Full Staff Directory
Our Hours
ExhibitsOpen 10 a.m. to 5 p.m. Tuesday through SaturdayWilliam H. Smith Memorial LibraryOpen 10 a.m. to 5 p.m. Tuesday through SaturdayHistory MarketOpen 10 a.m. to 5 p.m. Tuesday through SaturdayStardust Terrace Café HoursOpen 10 a.m. to 2 p.m. Tuesday through Saturday
Never miss a story!
Eugene and Marilyn Glick Indiana History Center450 West Ohio Street, Indianapolis, IN 46202(317) 232-1882
© 2018 Indiana Historical Society Privacy Policy
The Indiana Historical Society is a 501(c)(3) Nonprofit Organization.