#### **Decatur County, Democratic Convention Candidates and Delegates, 1906**

#### Natalie Burriss and Patrick Hanlon

Political conventions were—and still are—used to select candidates for various elected federal and local government offices. On the national stage, the primary objective is to select a party's presidential candidate. However, earlier in the election season, political parties hold conventions on the precinct, county, and state levels to choose lower-ranking officials as well as the delegates who will represent the parties on the national level.<sup>1</sup>

As 1906 was not a presidential election year, Decatur County was nominating candidates for the offices of secretary of state, attorney general, fourth district congressman, and Supreme Court clerk, among others, which were formalized during the convention.<sup>2</sup> Below is a list of candidates and the 233 delegates who attended the Decatur County Democratic Convention planned for September 1, 1906, in Greensburg, Indiana. The list appeared in the August 16, 1906, edition of the *Greensburg New Era*. The convention was scheduled to take place at the county courthouse, Greensburg being the county seat of Decatur County.<sup>3</sup> Names are listed as they appear by township.

### Notes

- Sophia Saliby, "Indiana Primary Election Delegates: What You Need To Know," April 17, 2016, in News WTIU WFIU NPR, <u>https://indianapublicmedia.org/news/indiana-primary-election-delegates-97168/</u>. Exact details for choosing delegates and candidates can change at the local level for either the Republican or Democratic Party each election. For a thorough explanation of when and how each political convention functions in Texas, see Montgomery County Republican System in Texas, "Political Party Convention System in Texas," <u>http://www.mcrp.org/POLITICALPARTYCONVENTIONSYSTEMINTEXAS.htm</u>. This web page lays out the general reasons and happenings for each level of a political convention.
- 2. "The Ticket," *Greensburg Standard* (Greensburg, IN), September 7, 1906.

3. "Democratic Convention Saturday, Sept 1, 1906, at 10:30 a.m.," *Greensburg New Era* (Greensburg, IN), August 16, 1906.

# Decatur County, Democratic Convention Candidates and Delegates, 1906 By Township

## Washington Township

Ale Howard	Ed Mendenhall	Ol Hunter
Thos. Duffy	R M Thomas	John Idlewine
J. W. Rucker	Frank Bryant	Will Logan
Jas. A. Meek	Jacob Eisenmann	Elmer Allen
Jas. O'Hare	Carl Mitchell	Sherman Dojes
Michael Gannon	Thomas Gannon	Geo. Bruce
Geo. Perry	Edgar Hamilton	Will Fenley
Ed Lacy	Irvin Lloyd	Albert Higgins
Ben Donnell	Levi Burns	Ollie Robbins
Geo. Erdmann	J. W. Lanius	J. M. Covert
David Wilson	Elmer Davis	Leo Spitzmesser
Peter Picket	Joel Hitt	Lou Wiles
Carl Lemasters	Thos Perry	S. Browning
Lon Loyd	Geo Menzie	John Abbott
Wm. Best	John Scott	J. K. Ewing
Ben Clariday	Geo. Bowman	Jas. Fiscus
Thos. J. Magee	Allen Duncan	John H. Bobbitt
Ed Fiscus	Jas. Mendenhall	J. L. Hamilton
Sherman Logan	David Kerr	Thomas Laughlin
John Cople	Wm. Squires	Carey Hunter
Mathew Creswell	Sherman Magee	Lee Tremain

## **Jackson Township**

John Kelly	Jas Pumphrey	Wm. Banister
Wm. Hubbard	James Laugh	Chas. J. Deweese
Jno. C. Arnold	John Thomas	John W. Tremain
Aaron Updike	Jacob M. Voiles	Edward Fraley
Jno. W. Crise	M. M. Curter	W. H. Fulwider
William Barton	O. B. Lawson	E. A. Thurston
David Edelman	Edward Fear	M. B. Taylor
John G. Evans		

## Sandcreek Township

Frank Taylor	Bert Lunda	Elmer Douglas
E E Goodwin	John Stier jr.	John Jackson
Edward Stier	J A Purvis	W F Robbins
Frank Sharp	Londa Wright	Frank Evans
Dave Biddinger	Chas Gray	J M Armstrong
Perry Owens	Sam'l Eddleman	William Billiu
M G Stewart	Frank Hamilton	W. S. Sanders
Julius Dixon	O B Scripture	Chas Talkington
Don Armstrong	G. Keith sr.	Frak [sic?] Skinner
Ed McKelvia	Thos Grayson	

#### Saltcreek Township

Edward Hart
Eli Snedeker
Ed S O'day
Jake [Stearns/Snearns?]
James Blair
John Collins
Dr. W G Fleming

Earnest Forkert Edward Huber August Kinker John Carr Robt Moulton

Nathan Bare

Wm Krene W S Maple Silas Demaree A J Krekler Peter P Schuh Edward Hoff

Clay Township		
Frank Hoff	James Howard	Wm Pumphrey
Ray Miers	Wm Caldwell	R E Miers
Patrick Ewing	Orange Logan	Herschel Lawson
Wm Wilson	Andy Galbraith	Caleb Wright
Jack Ewing	Bert Oliphant	Frank Thompon
John Hays	Andrew Meyers	Josh Wasson
Hud Gentry	Ewing Arnold	Wm McClintic
W B Minor	Marion Thompson	John Wasson
Clinton Township		
Hugh Coy	Will Perry	Will Brunker
Henry Sefton	Grant Ruddle	J T Spillmau
Fugit Township		
Wm Springmeir	Dave McCracken	Leat Hite
Dave Freeland	C B Wallott	O J King
Schall Davis	John Watters	John Kelsey
Fred Springmeir	C Wittle	Jos Martin
Chas Kincaid	Henry Thiesing	Yel Davis
Will Kincaid		
Adams Township		
John Townsend	Jake Hoff	Rob Thompson
James Reed	A Boling	Maylord Slifer
Robert Kirby	Frank Jewett	Daniel Apple

Jas Goff Ed Hoffman L A Jewett Wm Larigan Jake Hoff A Boling Frank Jewett Gus Ryse Solomon Apple Geo Kanouse Geo Bailey Rob Thompson Maylord Slifer Daniel Apple Bury Kelly Geo Jenkins Wm Kelso Frank Allison

Jesse Barlow	A H Burr	E Palmerton
Hall Tremble		
Marion Township		
Joseph Koors	Wm Daily	Geo Witkemper
Bernard Herbert	Joseph Warner	Geo M Scheidler
John Wheeldon	Bernard Wilmer	Edward Sutton
Clem Hamilton	Joseph Moorman	Peter Gutting
John McConnell	Barney Ortman jr.	Jos Lammerding
H H Blankman	Wm Ruhl	John Alexander
Gerald Duerstock	Geo Veerkamp	Chris G Rohlfing
J W Tichenor	Jeremiah Wagener	S W Mace
Wm Draping jr.	J P Fonseth	H M Reddlemon
S B Rolfes	Henry Fry	

## Candidates

Hon. James F. Cox, Columbus for Secretary of StateHon. Walter J. Lotz, Muncie for Attorney GeneralHon. Lincoln Dixon, North Vernon for Congressman, 4th District

Rev. T. H. Kuhn, Richmond for Clerk of the Supreme Court Hon. Francis T. Hord, Columbus for Clerk of the Supreme Court Hon. Burt New, North Vernon for Clerk of the Supreme Court